It’s Shaped Like A Hook For A Reason

Read this. And don’t whine about the bad language. It’s Chuck Wendig. And you’re over 18, so you can handle it.

Read it? Good. It’s the most brilliant piece of writing advice I’ve read in years. How about that? The question mark is shaped like a hook. I’ve been taking some short stories I had drafted and subjected them to this treatment. What an eye opener. The sequel to “Highway 101” and “Bad History” that I wanted to write? Works so much better. Here’s how…

Question markTony Bolin is sitting in a rundown apartment alone.
Why?
He’s waiting for Roger.
Who is Roger?
Roger’s brother Sam died a month ago.
Why?
Bolin killed him.
How come?

I can have that written in about 500 words. There’s about two pages of that which culminates in a rather abrupt (but dramatic) ending.

Would this work on a novel? Probably not. A novel is a little more involved, but it could work as a first step, once you have a firm idea for the story. Then you can do the outline for real.

It’s now a permanent part of my writing routine.