MTM Cincinnati: The Chili Wars, Chain Edition

A couple of weeks ago, I told you about Cincinnati-style chili.  I also passed on posting a recipe, since I’ve never made it from scratch.  George Matthai, in the comments section, offered one of his own.  I also promised to give you a run-down of the different chains and a few indie shops.  Today, I look at the chains after the jump.

I dined on Cincinnati-style chili for four straight days to compare one chain’s against the rest.  With the exception of Dixie Chili (for reasons that will become apparent later), I ordered a four-way onion.  That is chili over spaghetti with cheese and onions.

Although Cincinnati chili is an enjoyable dish, I can hardly recommend eating it everyday for lunch for the better part of a week.  I also don’t recommend getting a four-way after you’ve had a salad after a business meeting followed by lunch with your wife (which I did on my trip to Empress Chili in Wyoming, just north of Cincinnati).  It’s filling.

First up…

skylinechili

Skyline Chili is the largest chain and the mack daddy of Cincinnati-style chili.  The name has become synonymous with Cincinnati-style chili.  They’re everywhere in Greater Cincinnati, and have been spotted in Dayton, Columbus, and even a store in Strongsville, a suburb of Cleveland.  (Incidentally, the unwritten rule is Dayton is the farthest you can get from downtown and still have passable Cincinnati-style chili.  Hence, I’d avoid the Gold Star at Philadelphia Airport.)  However, you never see Skyline in a booth in a mall and, away from downtown Cincinnati, almost always in its own building or a sizable section of a strip mall.

Skyline’s chili is a watery paste with finer ground meat.  It’s most noticeable feature is the hint of cinnamon which gives it its distinctive flavor.  As I said before, I used to prefer Gold Star for coneys and Skyline for a four-way.  This is why.  The thinner chili with its unusual flavoring is better suited spaghetti than hot dogs.

goldstar

Gold Star is a newer chain, “the taste that’s taking over.”  Unlike Skyline, they don’t think twice about taking over a mall booth and quite likely would be right at home in one of those gas station combo stores sharing space with a Subway or a Taco Bell.  (Taco Bell?  Bleck!)  Gold Star offers a thicker chili with an odd touch:  nutmeg.  I don’t know if Gold Star actually puts nutmeg in its chili, but there’s a nutmeg flavor in it.  Because of the flavor, it blends nicely with mustard on a coney.  The thicker chili is ideally suited for coneys, but it’s not bad in a four-way.

empress

Empress is an older chain, the original Cincinnati-style chili parlor.  In fact, there are only three left in the city.  Depressing, really.  I first had Empress in Norwood.  The store is now a Gold Star.  Gone are the locations downtown; in New Richmond, east of the city; and Mt. Lookout, a neighborhood in the city overlooking the Ohio River.  Not much has changed in the Empress stores beyond now taking credit cards.  It’s almost like a cafeteria there.  Pay for your food, grab a tray, and they hand you your order at the end of the line.  The chili is very similar to Skyline’s and it’s no surprise.  Skyline founder Nicholas Lambrinides started out working for Empress.

Empress is a very satisfying alternative to the two big upstarts.  It does not have as much of a cinnamon taste to it as Skyline, but it is meatier than both Skyline and Gold Star.  It also is a little saltier, not a bad thing for chili.  It may have been the chili, but I’m pretty sure Empress uses a sharper cheddar cheese than Skyline or Gold Star.  Empress bites you back, with or without the hot sauce.

dixie-logo

Which brings us to Dixie Chili.  I moved to Cincinnati in 1991.  I did not have my first bite of Dixie Chili until 2009.  There’s a reason for that.  It’s a small chain (currently three locations) located over in Northern Kentucky.  I’ve had Gold Star in Northern Kentucky.  I’ve had Skyline over there.  And I think I may have had Empress once over in Alexandria.  But I’ve never had Dixie, until now.

As I said, I had Skyline, Gold Star, and Empress as four-ways.  Dixie is different.  For starters, their five-ways and four-way beans use pinto beans instead of kidney beans.  Dixie also offers a six-way.  What’s a six-way?

Just add fresh garlic.

And let me tell you something.  The Dixie six-way is something special.  For starters, you can tell founder Nicholas Sarakatsannis originally worked for Empress, the same as Skyline founder Nicholas Lambrinides.  Like Empress, Dixie Chili is meatier.  Like Skyline, the cinnamon taste is very much in evidence.  And like Gold Star, it’s a thicker sauce.  The fresh garlic on a six-way, however, pushes Dixie Chili over the top.  I almost went back for seconds.

Almost.  The research for this post is slowing my efforts to slim down.  Sacrifices must be made.

So after four days of four-ways (and one six-way), I have to call it for Dixie.  I went home and raved about it to my wife, almost asking her to go down to Newport with me for dinner there.  (We ate at Rusty’s in Deer Park.  I needed salmon after 4 days of chili.)

I had fun checking out the four local heavyweights.  I’m sorry to see Empress fading away in the face of two bigger competitors, but glad to see Dixie carry on the tradition.  And there will always be a Skyline and a Gold Star.

In two or three weeks, I’ll post about some favorite indie shops, such as Camp Washington Chili.

Check out more My Town Monday posts hosted by Sepiru Chris and Junosmom until Travis gets his house back.

18 thoughts on “MTM Cincinnati: The Chili Wars, Chain Edition

  1. This was quite a research project for your stomach. However, if I can to Cin. I would have to try them all too.

  2. Hi Evil, Dad will be thrilled you linked to him. I’ll read your post to him tomorrow when I visit. He’s at Bethesda North right now, recovering from an operation and complications. He loves this subject.

  3. I love chili! We actually had a Skyline in the little city of Muncie, Indiana. It was awesome. Dude, now I’m hungry. I want some chili. 🙂

  4. Holy Schnikies! I must absolutely bow down to your chili-ology. This post is awesome! Err… reading it gave me heartburn (unfortunate victim of ulcers at an early age), but sounds like that Dixie chili would be well worth the sacrifice.

    Being from California, I was in an area where chili was never taken as seriously as it should. Although (you may laugh at this), my vegetarian chili is to die for! ^.^ Four types of beans, a bushel of onions and a spice mix who’s secret is carefully guarded by a handful of goldfish, one turtle, a dobie mix and a shih tzu. Passed down by tradition through my ancient Vietnamese line (not), it is a definite favorite at potlucks and parties. Next time I must serve this on spaghetti, cheese and garlic at my next gathering! ^.^

    Thank you so much for your sacrifice, Evil J. It was certainly appreciated! …when do we get to hear about the Cincinnati dessert places, hmm? ^.-

  5. Patti – It’s pretty filling. I recommend the Dixie chili six-way.

    Chris – Make sure you get Graeter’s for dessert.

    Cathy – Did not realize George was your dad. Tell him thanks for adding that link when I did the original post.

    Lauren – Skyline tends to hold up the best when you get out of SW Ohio.

    Robin – White Castles? Oooooh, no no no no no!!!

    Yen – Three of the best chilis I’ve had were here in Cincinnati. There’s Dixie for the Cincinnati style (Greek meat stew, actually.), a California-style vegetarian chili from Manna’s on Main Street, and a really spicy Texas-style at Habits Cafe in Oakley. If you like spicy tomato-based stuff that goes great with onions and cheese, Cincinnati’s your town, even for REAL chili.

    Debra – Weight and blood sugar are keeping me out of Graeters for now, but my reward for losing 10 pounds is a sundae from the Fountain Square store.

    Honey – [*Buuurrrrrrp!!!!*] Love you, baby.

  6. Evil J Winter,

    Should I end up in your town, I will be sure to email/e-note your blog for up-to-date chili (and dessert) options. I enjoy traveling on my stomach. The buttons get scratched, but the bauch burbles with pleasure.

    Thanks for the epic chili voyage on all of our behalf.

    Tschuess,
    Chris

  7. I wanted to let you know that your post has inspired me to write a MTM on Chicago’s Best Hot Dog and another on Chicago’s Best Pizza. They will be a few weeks of Mondays away as I have much (tasty) research to do. Thanks for the inspiration–and for the fast food excuse :-P.

  8. My favorite Chili is DIxie Chili now! However, Crystal Chili was my favorite. Crystal Chili was owned by one of the Sarakatsannis that argued his Chili was better than Dixie and opened Crystal Chili a block away from Dixie. The owner passed away and the restraunt closed. I believe his name was Phil. I am not 100% sure. I do not know the whole story I was young at the time. I do know that they where two differnet tasting chili’s and both were world class! Someone older could probably tell you the story. It was a well known family fued that should have never been!

  9. I am from Cincinnati and I have the empress chili recipe that I make now that I live in las Vegas. empress is my favorite because its not all watery. You should have a 5-way, which means you would add beans.

  10. Does anyone know a close match to the Crystal Chili recipe.
    That was my favorite chili until it was sold. It is now Gourmet Chili and it is no where close to Crystal Chili. I really would like to taste that chili again. If there is anyone out there who can come close to that taste, please let me know. Thanks.

Comments are closed.