The Year In Jim, 2014 Edition

‘Tis that time of year when we look back on the year now ending. Unlike other year end lists, I’m going to look back on what’s truly important. Me.

JANUARY

You know how I’m always saying I’m going to take up running every year? Yep. Did that again.

FEBRUARY

Nita and I celebrate the sixth anniversary our first date.

Nita let’s me have the house to myself for a weekend. Was it an orgy in partying or a really productive writing weekend? Actually, I drank beer and fell asleep.

MARCH

Noro virus: Like ebola without the hemorrhaging.

My Dick finished a novel.

APRIL

My Neon, on April Fool’s Day, blows a sensor. By Tax Day, I become the proud owner of a Volkswagen Jetta. My family is no longer embarrassed to ride in or drive my car.

MAY

I start revising Holland Bay based on edits from Brian Thornton.

JUNE

New job! And a year before I’d planned to go looking for one.

The sixth anniversary of the happiest day of my life.

JULY

My annual trek along the Little Miami Bike Trail makes it all the way to Yellow Springs, near Dayton.

AUGUST

I begin my final year of school

SEPTEMBER

Holland Bay goes to an agent. She asks for revisions.

OCTOBER

I’m up to running 3 miles three times a week.

NOVEMBER

Aaaand we get a treadmill.

DECEMBER

SARS comes to the Winter household. Which means I don’t run from a week before Christmas to… Well, by the time you read this, we’re still waiting.

