Guest Post: Debbi Mack

Debbi MackDebbi Mack and I started out together long, long ago with the same publisher. Since then, Debbi has gone indie to continue her Sam McRae series, which she is now releasing as a boxed set. Take it away, Debbi…

‘Law Can Be Murder’: The Sam McRae Mystery Series in a Boxed Set

What started as an attempt to simply bring my out-of-print first mystery novel into readers’ hands again has grown and blossomed into an actual series. The first Sam McRae mystery, Identity Crisis, much to my shock, became a New York Times ebook bestseller back in 2011, when the list had just started to include ebooks.

Identity CrisisI had been freelancing and writing fiction up until December 2010. After that, I simply didn’t have the time or ability to do it all. So, I threw myself into writing fiction and making a living off that. I even set up my own imprint for the print versions of my books, despite the fact that most of money came from ebook sales. As a result, my first book not only hit the Times bestseller list, but became a Kindle bestseller in the U.S. and the U.K. My second novel, Least Wanted, also hit the Kindle Top 100 in both countries. I continued to write, publish, and market my books full bore until around 2012, when I became exhausted with the effort.

The truth was that the market was being flooded with ebooks — both traditionally published and self-published. Nonetheless, I was able to publish a third book in the series, Riptide. That was back in 2012.

The following year, I reissued Identity Crisis through my own publishing imprint. I’d written other stand-alone novels, but wasn’t ready to release them.

Now, I’m finally just months away from publishing my fourth Sam McRae mystery, Deep Six, along with my first young adult novel, Invisible Me.

For those of you who haven’t read the series, Sam McRae is a lawyer in Maryland, who gets involved in solving murders connected with her cases. The way I like to think of Sam is like Kinsey Millhone as a lawyer. The genre is hardboiled, with a touch of noir to it. If you own an ereader, you can buy the first three novels in a boxed set from almost any online retailer.

Law Can Be MurderThe boxed set is entitled Law Can Be Murder and is available at bargain prices, for a limited time only. If you’d like to read the first three novels in the series, you can do so at a substantial savings by purchasing the boxed set.

I’m also throwing a big Facebook party for the boxed set’s release. The party is scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 2, from 1:30 to 4:30 p.m. EST. There’ll be trivia contests and prizes for the winners.

Law Can Be Murder is only $1.99 right now. Buy a copy and join us on Facebook for the party next week!


Debbi Mack is the New York Times ebook bestselling author of the Sam McRae mystery series. She’s also published Five Uneasy Pieces, a short story collection that includes her Derringer Award–nominated story “The Right to Remain Silent.” Her short stories have appeared in various other anthologies and publications. Her most recently published short story is “Jasmine”, appearing in Chesapeake Crimes: Homicidal Holidays.

Debbi is also a screenwriter and aspiring indie filmmaker. Her first screenplay has placed highly in both the Scriptapalooza and Austin Film Festival screenwriting contests.

A former attorney, Debbi has also worked as a journalist, librarian, and freelance writer/researcher. She enjoys walking, cats, travel, movies, music, and espresso.

You can find Debbi online here:

On Twitter: @debbimack and @debbimacktoo

On YouTube at:

On Instagram at:

On Tumblr at:

You can buy Law Can Be Murder on Amazon, B&N, Kobo, Apple iBooks, and Smashwords!