The Writer’s Routine

Whenever people hear that I’m a writer, I get the same three questions:

  • “So what’s your real job?” (I work in IT support and web development. And yes, you risk physical injury if you ask me that on the chance I’ve gone full-time. It’s an insulting question.)
  • “What’s your process?” (Shut up and finish your assignment for that MFA you paid entirely too much in tuition for.)
  • “Tell me your routine.”

Ah, I can sink my teeth into that one. I do have a routine. And it took me forever to figure it out. It’s subject to change, but it lets me contemplate actually doing this, yanno, full time.

5AM – Smack snooze bar

5:09 – Smack snooze bar

5:18 – Okay, I guess I need to get up

5:20 – Shit, shower, shave, pop an ungodly number of pills that keep my fat ass from imploding on itself.

5:40 – Dress. Ask my wife if she wants to wake up at 6:15. (Answer is always yes.)

5:45 – Boot laptop, grab food from kitchen. Ready to write. Right?

5:46 – Damn dog wants out. Let dog out. Now I’m ready to write.

5:48 – Dog barks. As it is before 8AM, I have to let her in.

5:50 – Now I can write. I work on fiction.

6:15 – Going at a pretty good clip only… “Honey! It’s 6:15!” Actually, I’m a good husband. I drop what I’m doing and go wake her.

6:30 – Done with WIP for morning. Shut down and stow laptop, go dump trash.

6:40 – Off to far side of town for work.

7:15 – 11:30 – All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

11:30 – 12:30 – Flee my coworkers to work on edits for prior WIP that’s been edited or in need of submission.

12:30 – 4:30 – All work and no play still makes Jack a dull boy.

4:30 – 5:15 – The hell that is the afternoon commute.

5:30 – Depending on the day: Make dinner, run, do housework before the weekend.

7 PM – Pay bills, make phone calls, try not to spend too much time on social media. (That’s what work is for.)

7:30 – 9:30 – (If I’m lucky). Web projects or skills sharpening. I need to do that, too.

9:30 – 11 – (If I’m lucky. And not watching TV with my lovely bride.) Work on nonfiction pieces, revisions, or even the blog.

11PM – Hard fast rule: I do not go to bed any later than this.

How’s it working? Ask me again when I get to slow down a little. Thanks.

