My 2013 Reading List

I didn’t do 100 books in 2013. That would have been overdoing it. But I did manage to get through most of my bookshelf (which I started a couple of years ago.) I started off, as usual, with Ken Bruen and intended to finish with two 87th Precinct novels. I did not list books I started but did not finish.

I finished my reading about every president up through Bill Clinton. I liked The Reagan Diaries, All the Best by George H. W. Bush (a collection of letters), and David McCullough’s Truman the best. This year’s best fiction book for me was Stephen King’s The Green Mile. The worst? The Bonfire of the Vanities, which I didn’t finish, and Conrad Black’s Nixon, which was really revisionist history.

1 The Book of Virtues Ken Bruen
2 The Ballad of Reading Gaol Oscar Wilde
3 The Dark Tower III Stephen King
4 Truman David McCulloch
5 Imperfect Justice: Prosecuting Casey Anthony Jeff Ashton
6 Winter’s End John Rickards
7 Does the Noise in My Head Bother You? Steven Tyler
8 Seven Up Janet Evanovich
9 Hangar 18 Jennette Marie Powell
10 Roughing It Mark Twain
11 Sh*t My Dad Says Justin Halpern
12 Needful Things Stephen King
13 Ike: An American Hero Michael Korda
14 Charlie Opera Charlie Stella
15 Out of Sight Elmore Leonard
16 Worst Enemies Dana King
17 A Farewell to Arms Ernest Hemingway
18 Gerald’s Game Stephen King
19 Jack: A Life Like No Other Geoffrey Perret
20 80 Million Eyes Ed McBain
21 Fuzz Ed McBain
22 The Poet Michael Connelly
23 The Hurt Machine Reed Farrel Coleman
24 Dolores Claiborne Stephen King
25 Lyndon: An Oral Biography Merle Miller
26 The Human Division John Scalzi
27 Basket Case Carl Hiassen
28 Gun Church Reed Farrel Coleman
29 Nightmares and Dreamscapes Stephen King
30 A Life in Full: Richard M. Nixon Conrad Black
31 Mick Jagger Phillip Norman
32 Onion Street Reed Farrel Coleman
33 A Stab in the Dark Lawrence Block
34 In Loco Parentis Nigel Bird
35 Childhood’s End Arthur C. Clarke
36 Insomnia Stephen King
37 Rise of the Machines Kristen Lamb
38 Write It When I’m Gone Thomas K. DeFrank
39 The Hunger Games Susan Collins
40 Rain Fall Barry Eisler
41 Lawyers, Guns, & Money JD Rhoades
42 Henry VI, Part I William Shakespeare
43 Rose Madder Stephen King
44 The Presidency of James Earl Carter, Jr. Burton Kaufman
45 Shotgun Ed McBain
46 Jigsaw Ed McBain
47 City Primeval Elmore Leonard
48 The Baddest Ass Anthony Neil Smith
49 Henry VI, Part II William Shakespeare
50 The Green Mile Stephen King
51 The Reagan Diaries Ronald Reagan
52 Iguana Love Vicky Hendricks
53 In Her Name: Confederation Michael Hicks
54 Henry VI, Part III William Shakespeare
55 Desperation Stephen King
56 All the Best George H. W. Bush
57 The Little Sister Raymond Chandler
58 The Mallet of Loving Correction John Scalzi
59 The Gilded Age Mark Twain &
Charles Dudley
Warner
60 The Dark Tower IV Stephen King
61 The Agenda: Inside the Clinton White House Bob Woodward
62 Hail, Hail, the Gang’s All Here Ed McBain
63 Let’s Hear It for the Deaf Man Ed McBain
64 The Kick-Ass Writer Chuck Wendig
One thought on “My 2013 Reading List

Comments are closed.