Space Stuff! Thus Endeth Act II… In Outline

Luke-Vader-Family Guy

Source: Fox

I did it. I finished an outline of Act II for the SF project. I wanted to keep going, but I really need to get back to writing this thing. After all, my Dick Bachman has to get around to building his presence, writing some supplemental material, and designing his web site. I also have to get back to being Jim Winter so I can revise Holland Bay one last time. (That one’s getting shopped.)

When I dropped what I was doing on the draft to outline, I was depressed. I thought I had this all figured out. So imagine what it was like to realize that was far from the truth. But a funny thing happened on the way to figuring out Act II. As I walked the tightrope between just sketching out a plotline and “pre-writing” the story, I started to get impatient. I might only sketch a scene or a chapter at a time, but after finishing one, I’d get ideas where I wanted to go next. I wanted to see what happened next. I was getting excited by my own story. Good news for you, because if the writer doesn’t know what happens next, the reader often doesn’t either.

So Sunday morning, I began writing again. Whereas my word counts plummeted from 1000 a day to sometimes 300 or less, I managed 1000 in one sitting. Since I have other things to do besides writing (like watching the Bengals), I had to stop. Butidowannastop!

Good. Maybe I can have those Stephen King-like 2000-word days, especially since the semester at school ends this week.

Then my Dick will really be like Dick Bachman.

 

