On This Date In 2006…

rr_cover_newOne night, after thirteen days of furious writing, my NaNoWriMo project, Road Rules was finished.

No one was more surprised than me that I finished in just under two weeks. It’s a feat I’ve not been able to duplicate. More surprising, the revision that I sent to my former agent was closer to the original draft than the one I sent to the beta readers.

I may use NaNoWriMo to produce shorter works. The 55K word count is a big reason I ended up releasing this independently. At the same time, Road Rules is one of my better long works. It created the seed for another series (based on a character who apparently dies, no less.)

So it is doable. I can’t promise you you’ll finish NaNo in 13 days, 30 days, or even at all. I can’t promise you what results will be workable. But even if you don’t finish, NaNoWriMo is a good exercise every serious writer should try at least once.

Print |Kindle | Nook | Smashwords

