Space Stuff: The Search For Plot

duck-dodgers

Source: Warner Brothers

Finally into the the middle act. It’s slow-going, but I put two of my characters at odds over each other. Then, just to keep it interesting, I had a giant saucer like the ones in V zoom in overhead. It’s taken an interest in the city the aliens recently nuked, which suggests the bomb is a bit cleaner than one would expect. I actually worked out the physics of how that would work with my SF writers group. We still don’t have the aliens and the surviving humans in direct conflict yet.

Instead, I’ve had a summary execution (You shoot civilians trying to steal their food, they shoot you.) and my two male rivals out in the woods confronting something similar to a werewolf. Not a humanoid that transforms into a wolf-like being, this is a canine-like predator that can walk on its hind legs. I like to start small and work my way up.

In the meantime, I need to map out the “premium” content. The short story this novel is based on is out making rounds. There are some background stories I want to send out as well.

The next thing I have to do is to get “Dick’s” web presence up and running. I’m going to have to differentiate between Jim Winter and my Dick Bachman. Different clothing styles, maybe different backgrounds for the photos. The blogs will have to have little overlap. Once I get “outted,” it won’t matter. At that point, I can merge the two brands, but for now…

It’s like when Stephen King put out novels as Richard Bachman. He wanted to see if he could do it again. Interesting note on that: When “Bachman’s” Thinner was revealed to have been a Stephen King novel, it had already sold 10,000 copies, not bad for a little known novel. If the guy who tried to get King to pay him for his silence had himself kept his mouth shut, Misery would have been the next Bachman novel, and quite likely his “breakout.”

I would just think it was funny if “Dick” became more famous than me. Not that I remotely qualify as anything resembling famous.

One thought on “Space Stuff: The Search For Plot

Comments are closed.