Shaun T Is Kicking My Ass

insanity-asskickedAt the beginning of the year, I decided I would do P90X, Beach Body’s extreme workout. At the time, I thought I would be taking the summer off from college. After all, the workout requires 60-90 minutes at a time.

And then I decided to take summer courses. Plus, P90X required some equipment I could not setup in our basement. Then one Saturday morning, I woke up to an infomercial for Insanity, trainer Shaun T’s easier workout that takes only 30-60 days, depending on which version you do. Thirty days was doable. The workouts are anywhere from 25 to 50 minutes, with an intense one that goes an hour. I found I could get up early some days. That part’s easy.

When I said Insanity is easier than P90X, it’s like geometry is easier than calculus. You’re still going to work. Day 1 was the Speed & Agility workout, which looks a lot like the cardio drills football players do. Shaun T shows you the drills. It’s up to you to get 45 minutes out of it. I didn’t do the pushups too well, but surprisingly, I got a really good workout. That was Day 1.

Day 2 was strength. It turns out I had three problems: Wrong dumbells, no room to jump rope, and… um… pushups. Plus, I only made it about 20 minutes in. Hmm…

It’s early. And I plan to do the workout again in August, when I’ll have most of the month free. Today, I’ll have done the Back to Core workout, which focuses on back and core. (Gee, where did they come up with that name?) I can’t tell you how it went because I’m writing this the night before. While waiting for the ibuprofen to kick in.

I like getting up early and working out before I head to work. I have more energy during the day, and I can concentrate better. Plus, I’ll be able to start running again in July with longer distances.

But I hope I can handle pushups by August.

Yeah, I’m outta shape.

