Holland Bay: The Final Report. For Now.

It is done. Finito. Finished.

Holland Bay Version 2.0 checked in on Mother’s Day at 90,613 words. To say that it looks nothing like the original I wrote a couple years ago is an understatement. In fact, it stopped paralleling the original about a third of the way through.

The ending is roughly the same, but without as many plot threads to wrap up. The original suffered from multiplying plotlines. A new character would appear, insist on having a backstory, and off we went.

Originally, I planned to plow through this from Thanksgiving through Valentine’s Day. Well, that worked out, didn’t it?

But for now, Holland Bay sits on my tower downstairs. I will not even look at it until I’ve finished revisions on Bad Religion.

I plan to do another one this summer, something original. The Richard Bachman to my Stephen King going to work. That’s right. I have a Dick Bachman to my Steve King. And my Dick is going to write a novel.

