April Fools Past

Today is April Fools Day, the day we make a sport of punking each other. I generally haven’t indulged in it, but it’s still been a lot of fun. What is my earliest April Fools memory?

Believe it or not, I really don’t have a memorable April Fools experience until about 1983 or 84, when MTV played Yes’ “Leave It.” Over and over and over…

The most memorable came a couple years after high school. I still lived at home and worked nights, often not getting home until 2 or 3 in the morning most nights. My brother, who sometimes posts here as Ziggins, thought this was the best time for an April Fool’s prank. He didn’t just play one, he played three.

At the time, I was obsessive about my vast album and tape collection. I had everything organized alphabetically by band, each band’s albums organized chronologically. Yes, I was a heavy metal and prog rock nerd. So I come home in the wee hours of April 2, ready to wind down from long day at work, and wanting to listen to some Deep Purple. Bleary eyed, I pulled Stormbringer, popped it in, and got…

Emerson, Lake, & Palmer.

Yeah, I wanted a young, strung-out David Coverdale before he became a hair metal joke and got Greg Lake singing atheist hymns. Not cool. I looked in my cassette box (Remember cassettes?) and found they’d all been switched around. Angry, I woke Ziggins up and make him put them all back. Ziggins thought this was hysterical.

Until he went to bed and a piece of plaster fell out of the ceiling. My turn to laugh.

A couple hours later, I climbed into bed. Only my bed had been short-sheeted. Before I could yell at him, I heard this crack, followed by Ziggins swearing. I poked my head into his room. “You did the bed, too. Right?”

“Fuck you, Jim.”

An hour later, I’m awoken by another crack and more swearing. Ziggins barges into my room, plaster in his hair, and goes straight to the storage room on the other side of my room. Moments later, he emerges with my Walkman and puts it on my desk. “I hid this, too.”

I couldn’t stop laughing for about twenty minutes after that.

Nice to know that old farmhouse had my back.

One thought on “April Fools Past

Comments are closed.