When Do You Write?

Monkey typingThe best time to write is in the morning. Your mind is fresh. It’s quiet. There are few distractions. I can get several pages out quickly without losing focus.

The day job and school have forced me to write in the evening. Sometimes this works. Sometimes it doesn’t. The problem here is that the mind, like the body is tired. It’s hard to get the words to come some nights, and I’ve often found myself resigned to just riffing on something I’ll never publish. It used to be that writing at night was ideal. But that was before I was “serious” about writing. I worked two jobs, and sitting at the computer late at night making stuff up was a wonderful way to come down from the day. Since those days, not so much. My night-owl days came to an end probably about a year or two after I married Nita.

Lately, though, I’ve discovered writing at lunchtime has worked wonders. I only get 30-45 minutes of writing time, but I like what I write. I’ve been doing this on days I have class and don’t want to do homework. It’s helped with the progress on Holland Bay. The only thing I fear is someone coming up behind me and wanting to talk about writing. Or some busy-body who likes only certain kinds of stories lecturing me that I shouldn’t write such trash. I try to get a seat in a corner at the back of the breakroom.

If I had time or could get up early enough, I’d go back to writing mornings. As it is, I write mornings on the weekends, before anyone else is up.

4 thoughts on “When Do You Write?

  1. Writing in the morning doesn’t work for me. I’ve tried, but i can;t clear my mind to write until all my routine household tasks (and my job, during the week) are complete.

    The Beloved Spouse and I watch an hour of television while sharing the evening meal (usually something off the DVR (like Stewart and Colbert) or a DVD (currently watching Season 2 of Castle*)), clean up the kitchen, then I go upstairs for a las look at theblogs I subscribe to. Then I’m fine for the evening.

  2. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for first-time blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Comments are closed.