And In The Morning, I’m Makin’ Waffles!

So it’s Sunday morning at Chateau Nita. I’m up around 9 AM (because that’s about as late as I can sleep in these days), perusing a Stephen King novel when AJ and his friend come bounding out of his bedroom after a hard night of killing zombies and orcs on their respective computers. “We’ll be back,” says AJ. “We’re getting Adam’s waffle maker.”

Source: Dreamworks

Huh?

They were gone before they answered. I went back to Stephen King’s tale of aliens creeping out the vampires in neighboring Salem’s Lot (because, let’s be honest, even the undead don’t go for that shit. That’s just creepy.) Twenty minutes later, they return with a waffle iron, a box of Bisquick, and a pound of bacon.

A minute later, AJ pokes his head in the living room. “How much bacon you want?”

I’d already eaten, but what the hell. It’s bacon. “I’ll take some.”

“Good. You’re making it.”

Wow. But whatever. I went in and was immediately instructed by Adam, AJ’s friend who has practically moved into the house since they both graduated high school, how to make the bacon. Sure, I’ve fried bacon before, but for this waffle breakfast, Adam told me to cut the bacon in half. It fries faster, and it’s easier to control how the bacon comes out. Damned if he wasn’t right. Adam was our head chef, poaching the eggs and making the waffles. AJ became the sous chef, making toast and plating the food. Me? I was the fry cook.

I did my Gordon Ramsay imitation for Adam. “Hey! Donkey! I asked you to boil water! You burned it! And these Hot Pockets are raw! Get out!”

Then AJ and I had to explain who Gordon Ramsay is. I suppose this is a good sign. An 18-year-old doesn’t know who a reality star is.

We had the bacon made, the waffles waffled, and all the food plated. I told AJ to take a plate into Nita’s room because she loves getting breakfast in bed.

“Duh.”

God, he acts like he’s eighteen or something.

Nita was indeed touched.

It was good guy time for me and AJ (and of course, Adam.) I think that was the first time we ever cooked together. There were times where we came in and helped Nita with breakfast or dinner, but this was almost spontaneous. One minute, they’re bounding out the door in search of Bisquick and bacon. The next we tearing the kitchen up and building the perfect feast.

The breakfast took me totally by surprise, but I’m pleased that it happened. AJ and I have not really had any real guy time together since I first married his mom. We used to get a half hour of Wii time in, but the Wii died. Plus I got more involved in school while he became more interested in marching band and a succession of girlfriends (the last two of whom we’ve treated like surrogate daughters.) It seems, though, now that AJ has to worry about things like college and job interviews and keeping gas in his car, we’ve been doing more things together. If anything, I’m now the one who slinks off to his room to hunker down with the computer. Nonetheless, we had fun. I hope we do it again soon.

