Remission

Last year, I managed to lose 20 pounds after doing a diet Nita had tried 20 years ago with great success. However, this was a hard diet to maintain. When the six weeks ended, I gleefully ended the program with a milkshake from Graeter’s Ice Cream.

Jabba the Hutt

Lucasfilm

I was back into the 280 pound range during the holidays, but soon after, my weight dropped to 275, where it’s stayed since since.

Unfortunately, some problems remain. I’m still on medications for blood sugar, cholesterol, and high blood pressure. I still need a machine to keep me from snoring to death. Exercise continues to be a challenge, with my new college cutting into time I’d intended for running.

At the same time, a funny thing happened two weeks ago. I weighed in on the morning of August 17 at 275 pounds. Then I had a busy weekend with little time to snack. I even skipped breakfast one morning. Come Monday morning, I weight 271 pounds. I went hungrier during the day. I felt better.

I know this sounds stupidly obvious, but not snacking seems to be the secret to losing weight. Not just losing weight but keeping my blood sugar down and not having that “2:30 feeling” from 2 to 4:30. I had been told over the past decade that grazing was the way to keep blood sugar and weight down. It occurred to me the power to cleaning out my medicine cabinet, ditching the CPAP, and probably living to at least 75 (quite an accomplishment in my family) seems to be eating fruit for breakfast, not gorging on potato chips and Reese’s Pieces, and trying to get in what exercise I can with challenges around time.

Sound obvious?

You would think it is, but you can’t just tell people to do this. I know. I’ve tried everything. The problem is we live in a fast food culture where the only thing you can eat on the run is crap. Those McD’s burgers that we thought were treats when we were kids? Hey, it’s cheap and fast. And we keep buying it. Sure, they sell healthier foods these days, but you can’t eat a salad and drive. You can’t eat their fruit offerings while weaving in and out of rush hour traffic.

An excuse? Yes, but an easy one most of us. We don’t even realize we’re doing it.

But for me, I need accountability. I have high cholesterol, hypertension, type II diabetes, and sleep apnea for one reason and one reason only: I’m still fat. And the thing is 270 pounds seems to be the magic number. Get below that for an extended period, and my blood work numbers look really good. So I’m putting it out there by posting this.

I want 10 pounds off by Halloween of 2012. That puts me at 265 pounds. I want five more off by Thanksgiving. That’s just inside or above the 250’s, depending on how lucky I get. Last time I was that weight, I stopped having snoring problems. Plus the extra weight buys me a little wiggle room for the holidays. I’m not lazy. I’m just realistic.

So there. I’ve said it. Now I have to prove it.

7 thoughts on “Remission

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I’m down about 13 pounds since I learned I was diabetic. Aside from getting my sugar under control (with medication and diet), I find I rarely get the 2:30 trough, and my sensitivity to pollen allergies seems to be greatly reduced. Nary a cold or sniffles, either.

  2. I’ve dropped 15 pounds and an entire clothing size since march, largely by walking a mile every morning with the dog, giving up burgers, fries and soda at lunch in favor of turkey subs, salads and veggie plates with water, and cutting my alcohol intake in half. We’ll see if that continues or if it plateaus. If the latter, I’ll have to up the exercise. Good luck!

  3. As a type two for more than fifteen years, I recommend (first) a modified South Beach Diet and the elimination of all white bread, all potatoes (yes, fries!), pasta and rice. I would also recommend checking out Victoza, an injectable “spit of the gila monster.” I am still Type two, still struggling, but I losty fifty pounds over those fifteen years and have kept it off. You can trust me; I am from Euclid.

  4. I’ve lost 10 pounds since July 4th by counting calories. Well, I started by counting – now I just look at a McD’s Quarter Pounder and say, “Nope.” I don’t get as hungry as I used to and I’m satisfied with less. Your mileage may vary.

  5. South Beach works great the first time but it’s harder the next one. I think the biggest key to losing weight for me though is to eat almost no carbs. Your body just doesn’t burn them off–it clings to them. The less carbs I eat, the more weight I lose. None would be about right. I have been walking an hour a day for years. It does nothing by now. I am hoping a community pool opening in November will help. Good luck, Jim.

  6. I’m curious to find out what blog platform you have been working with? I’m having some
    small security issues with my latest site and I’d like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any suggestions?

Comments are closed.