Adventures In Reimaging, Part 2

So I resurrected the old HP tower. I wanted a Linux box. At first I tried Ubuntu, but it didn’t like my wireless card. I work in a shop that uses Fedora 14, so I loaded Fedora instead. It kinda likes my wireless. Maybe. Depending on the day of the week. After a little research, I discovered that Broadcom, the company who makes the chipset most wireless cards have, was less than cooperative with Linux developers.  Seems Broadcom believes in engaging in bad business practices by disrespecting a not insignificant portion of the computing market. Sure, most Linux servers are hardwired into their networks, but 1.) ethernet cable is not an option for my house and 2.) Macs – which are Unix-based – run on wireless, so there’s really no legitimate excuse for Broadcom to be stingy with the drivers.

But then look how long it took for Microsoft to come up with Windows 7.

Anyway, I’ll throw it out to you, fellow geeks. When the wireless runs, it runs like dialup. My phone on 1x doesn’t run that slow. How have some of you gotten around this problem?

Another thing. Is there a good Flash alternative? I’ve installed Adobe’s Flash for Linux, and it works like Windows ME.  (Remember that joke?)  How do I make YouPor-  I mean, YouTube go on Linux?

I am excited about what I can do with Linux. It’s probably the best platform for developing Droid apps. (Hey, whattaya know! Droid is Linux based!) But there are some hurdles I still need to clear.

Coming up next: Jim builds his own Windows domain.

3 thoughts on “Adventures In Reimaging, Part 2

  1. When targeting specific hardware, it often pays to google others’ experiences, because YMMV. Sometimes the Linux kernel has the driver, sometimes its an add-on kernel module, and then there’s always the option of using “ndiswrapper” to load the windows driver within Linux.

    Sometimes you can hear others’ outcomes on performance, because the Windows XP drivers under ndiswrapper may fare better or worse in terms of range detection and throughput.

Comments are closed.