Kindle In The Workplace

A couple of people at my current job show up with ereaders. One lady has a Nook. Another has a Kobo. And me? I have a Kindle. And yes, I’ve been reading it off and on while on break.

I’ve also been using it in my work. I’m a junior programmer working in .Net and writing a lot of SQL Server code. I also play with Linux when I get bored. What can I say? I’m a geek.

The trouble is even the most experienced programmers need to look stuff up. Day one at work had me jumping on the Amazon site downloading a SQL guide, a beginner’s book on Linux. The SQL reference has been getting hammered a lot. It’ll probably get hammered worse in a few months when we attempt to jettison MySQL for something not tainted with Oracle’s grubby fingerprints.

This week, I ran into what we politely call “a challenge,” namely Microsoft’s Internet Information Services 7.5.  It’s just like version 6 except, yanno, hard. The thing is I work for a small company.  How small? This morning, I added “Fix Keurig coffee machine” to my job duties. (On the upside, I also learned, after five tries, how to turn off the burglar alarm.  That’ll teach me to come in an hour early.) We don’t have an IIS administrator. And IIS 7.5 is not the set-it-and-forget-it web server previous versions and Apache are. Oh, no. Microsoft wants you to work. And Google doesn’t help. Half the forums are people posting, “Hey, I got that problem, too!” or “This is a known issue.”

Gee, thanks. What’s the solution?

Well, I did what no self-respecting geek is supposed to do, not if he wants to sit with the cool kids.  Fortunately, I hate the cool kids. They’re not usually all that cool. I went to Amazon and got a book.

“Doesn’t that take 1-5 days depending on your shipping option?”

One word: Whispernet.

I had my answer five minutes after paying for the book.

God, I love Kindle!

One thought on “Kindle In The Workplace

  1. I like the Kindle device for its battery life and sun-readable e-ink. But I dislike the DRM used by chains like Amazon or Barnes & Noble. I want to read my books on the platforms of my choice (why no Linux?) using the apps of my choice. And I want to be able to copy and paste references, URLs, and company names into my browser.

    I’ve bought one Nook-only book, one Kindle-only book, and several non-DRM books through Smashwords and the like. The non-DRM versions sometimes cost twice as much, but to me it’s worth it. I prefer to stay inside Linux using Lucifox or FBReader, and I’ve even uninstalled the Adobe PDF reader when I found my drafts folder filling with PDF files it was emailing that I had been reading. Creepy.

Comments are closed.