Is The PC Dead?

Yesterday, I heard that the PC is dead and Microsoft will soon fade to irrelevancy. The basis? It took 18 months for Windows 7 to surpass Windows XP. That’s what WLW’s tech guy told the good people of Cincinnati yesterday morning on The Jim Scott Show. Clearly, that shows a trend toward pads and smartphones, since no one really does anything on the computer anymore.

Hmm…

I am intrigued by the possibilities of pads, and of course, I own a Droid. But has it replaced the computer?

I would say it’s replacing the tower, but the tower’s evolving. Instead of PC vs. Mac, it’s now PlayStation vs. Xbox vs. Wii. By integrating the full blown desktop with the TV more closely, we can now surf the web, play games, pirate play music and movies all on our 60-inch, plasma, hi-def, 3D televisions we all bought before the economy crashed.

But I believe the laptop will be with us for a long time. One reporter for Fox News suggested no one really needs a computer because most people don’t hunch over their keyboards doing CAD drawings. Seriously? Twenty-seven years after the first Macintosh, 16 years after Windows 95, and in the era of the cheap laptop, and your reason for the PC being dead is because people don’t do CAD drawings? Really, did you send that report in on your iPhone? Were you the same guy that asked Bush if he would go on television while you were both on television? (The response from Bush – and it would have been the same from Clinton – was priceless.)

There also seems to be this odd idea that people don’t want to touch type anything longer than a text message, or that texting has replaced email.

Yet what apps do they stick on your Droid and iPod besides the phone?

Gmail. Outlook.

Yes, I check my personal email on my smartphone.  But it’s easier to read on my laptop.

The reason I don’t believe the PC is dead is because people do use their PC’s for more than just balancing the checkbook. Really, try playing World of Warcraft on your iPad.  Doesn’t work.  But it does on your laptop.

Laptops are portable.  They’re lighter than they were even three years ago. They’re cheap – I’m writing this on a machine that costs less than half the cost of its predecessor. It’s not the PC (or the Mac) that’s dead.

It’s the desktop.  The laptop will be with us for quite a while.

3 thoughts on “Is The PC Dead?

    • Good question. I beat the hell out of my computers, so a netbook probably is out of the question for me.

      But if someone needs to be able to write but doesn’t want to spend $800 for a laptop decked out with Office and a host of other apps, a netbook is probably a viable alternative.

      Chrome is coming along nicely, according to John Scalzi, but it’s not ready for prime time. Until it is, the small Windows boxes put out by Dell and the like will be the way to go if you’re looking for stripped down and cheap. (Not sure if Apple ever entered this realm. They may have skipped it altogether for the iPad.) Otherwise, I’d stick with a laptop.

  1. My biggest problem with the netbook is the size of the keyboard. I’m clumsy enough on a full sized one. Havne’t seen one of those tiny little keyboards yet that wouldn’t be a nightmare for someone with hands my size.

    D

Comments are closed.