That Time Of The Year

Sundown is moving rapidly toward 7 PM in these parts.  It’s dark when I go to work now.  You know what’s coming.  I’ve complained about it before.

Standard Time.

Or as I call it, Substandard Time.  A time when it’s still dark when you go to work, but the only daylight you get to see is the fifteen minutes at night you’re stuck on a bus or in traffic.  The sun’s gone by the time you get home.

A lot of people decry Daylight Savings Time, usually because you lose an hour of sleep once a year.  I say, “Who cares?”  It’s not worth that extra hour in the fall to go back to Standard Time.  In fact, I hate Standard Time.  It’s always dark then.

Once, back in the 1970’s, they made Daylight Savings a year-long affair.  I’d say we should go back to that, except sunrise would happen at 9 AM here in Cincinnati.  Further north in my old stomping grounds of Cleveland, it’d be even later.

The way Standard Time is handled now is just fine.  It acknowledges that winter is one dark season.  And despite my last name, I don’t like winter at all.  My wife may be a fan of snow, but I’m not.  I’ve slid in a couple of ditches.

But once winter is endured, spring comes again, and the sun is out more than it’s dark.  That’s when I like it best.  It’s worth losing an hour of sleep over.

One thought on “That Time Of The Year

  1. I hate this time of year. We’re farther west than you and should be in another time zone–as should Indianapolis. We should also be closer to the sun.

Comments are closed.