MTM Cincinnati: One Small Step…

Today is the 40th anniversary of the Apollo moon landing.  What’s this have to do with Cincinnati?

Well, the first one out of the lunar module was current Indian Hill resident Neil Armstrong.

armstrong

Armstrong, a veteran of the Air Force’s X-1 program and Project Gemini, commanded the Apollo 11 mission to the moon.  Afterward, he was rather quiet about his achievement.  He moved to Cincinnati in the mid-1970’s to become a professor of engineering at the University of Cincinnati.  Since then, he’s lived a quiet life in the tony suburb of Indian Hill.  Occasionally, he makes an appearance with the Cincinnati Pops to do narrations.  As for the moon landing, he’s been perfectly happy to let fellow lunar module pilot Buzz Aldrin speak for the crew.  (There was a radio ad for the the beef industry a few years back when Aldrin, after reverently speaking of the trip, flies off in a rage and says, “Of course, we had steak!  What did you expect us to celebrate with?  A can of ravioli?  One degree off on reentry, and we would have been accute BBR.  That’s a cute little NASA term for burned beyond recognition!“)

moon

As for the moon landing itself, like Armstrong, I didn’t live in the Queen City at the time.  I was only 3 and living in a Cleveland suburb when Armstrong said, “That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”  Yet it’s one of my earliest and clearest memories.  I spent my childhood obsessed with the space program, to the point where I gave Mr. Johnson’s fifth grade class a lecture.  (Now that’s obsessive.)

Hopefully, we will be returning to the moon in a few years.  And we’ll have company.  It’ll be fifty years between the last landing and the next one, a half century wasted when we could have exploited existing technology to find the moon’s true potential.

All photos nasa.gov.

[More My Town Mondays posts at the My Town Mondays Blog.]

Hey, MTMers!  I’m taking the month of August off from the blog, so it will be all Reader Request month.  So between now and August 8th, tell me what you want to see on My Town Mondays here at Edged in Blue.

3 thoughts on “MTM Cincinnati: One Small Step…

  1. I was 19 and visiting relatives in Vancouver, British Columbia in the heat of summer. Everyone was inside their homes watching the televised moonwalk My mother was so excited and moved by the experience. I, not so much, being raised on Lost In Space, My Favourite Martian, and Star Trek. Though it was neat to walk those heavy booted feet step down onto the moon’s surface while those forever famous words will stay with me.

Comments are closed.