Shoot, Pass, Cont, Frack, Corksoaker, Motherfracker, And Tits…

One of the greatest comedians ever, if not THE greatest, has passed away.  George Carlin died this past weekend of heart failure at age 71.

One of my fondest memories of Carlin came in the late 1980’s.  Jim Chenault, a DJ for Akron’s WONE, used to play comedy bits between songs on his afternoon drive show.  One day, while out driving around, I heard George Carlin’s voice saying, “Join the Book Club!  As an introductory offer, we’ll send you the following books absolutely free…”  Though the bit was edited for radio, I still damn near wrecked the car laughing so hard.  The bit’s actually not one of Carlin’s best, but Carlin had a delivery that made you think you’d fallen down the rabbit hole or accidentally drank a Deadhead’s 7-Up.

We’ll miss you, George.

2 thoughts on “Shoot, Pass, Cont, Frack, Corksoaker, Motherfracker, And Tits…

  1. I’m just old enough to remember George when he still looked square. The first time I saw him back in the middle sixties, he wore a suit and had short hair, no beard.
    A year or two ago wen someone had the list of the hundred greatest comedians, he was ranked number two I think, with Richard Pryor number one. Or maybe it was the other way around. Either way would work for me.

  2. He was so versatile – he used to entertain my child on “Shinging Time Station”. He was a true entertainer!

Comments are closed.