WMD Blues – 1 Year Anniversary

[Originally posted December 29, 2006 on Northcoast Exile.  Hard to believe it’s been a year.  And I still question if the war was ever worth it.]

[The most tasteless blog post yet here. After what this country’s gone through under the most dubious of reasons to get rid of this bastard, I think I’m entitled to mock his death. So long, Saddam, and don’t let the gates of Hell smack you in the ass.]

WMD BLUES

[To the tune of “Cocaine Blues”]

With apologies to Johnny Cash

Early one mornin’ while makin’ the rounds
I took a shot of cocaine and I gassed some Shiites down
I went right home and I went to bed
I stuck that lovin’ nerve gas launcher ‘neath my head

Got up next mornin’ and I grabbed a gun
Took a shot of cocaine and away I run
Made a good run but I had lead feet
They chased me down a rabbit hole outside Tikrit

Late in the hot joints takin’ the pills
In walked a man from Capitol Hill
He said Saddam your name is not Jack Brown
You’re the dirty hack who gassed those Shiites down

Said yes, oh yes my name’s Saddam Hussein
If you’ve got the warrant just a-read it out plain
Gassed them down because they pissed me off
I asked them “Who’s yer daddy?” They said “Bugger off!”

When I was arrested I was dressed in rags
They put me in a Hummer and drove me back
Had no friend for to go my bail
They slapped my dried up carcass in a Baghdad jail

Early next mornin’ bout a half past nine
I spied the Marines coming down the line
The Major coughed as he cleared his throat
He said come on you dirty hack into this brand new court

Into the courtroom my trial began
Where I was handled by Iraqi men
Just before the judges started out
I saw the dirty head judge start to look about

In about five minutes in walked the man
Holding the verdict in his right hand
It read genocide in the first degree
I hollered Lawdy Lawdy, have a mercy on me

The judge he smiled, and I gave up all hope
I’d get to swing at the end of a rope
My carcass’d swing just above the ground
I can’t forget the day I gassed those Shiites down

Come on you’ve gotta listen unto me
Lay off that nerve gas and let that cocaine be

Saddam “Shotgun” Hussein, 1937-2006

