We Interrupt Our Holiday Posts For The Next Big Thing

I’ve been tagged in The Next Big Thing blog project. Since they asked nicely, I’m in. Here goes.

1. What is the working title of your next book?
Bad Religion, the third Nick Kepler novel.
2. Where did the idea come from for the book?
I grew up on the fringes of both Cleveland and Akron. The latter had a number of televangelists, including some big names, based there. It also allowed me to write about a couple of characters in a fan favorite short story, “Full Moon Boogie.”
3. What genre does your book fall under?
It’s a PI novel.

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?
I could see John Cusack as Kepler and Julianne Moore as Elaine. When I wrote the original draft, I envisioned the character of Jackie as strongly resembling Neve Campbell.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Private investigator Nick Kepler finds a local church is dirtier than the mobster he does business with.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
It will be self-published and available for Kinlde via Amazon.com.
7. How long did it take you to write a first draft of the manuscript?
It took about three months to do the first draft, and another six weeks to do a second one.
8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
I just reread some of the edits someone sent back to me when this was originally going to be published, and I thought its tone sounded an awful lot like Robert Crais.
9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I’ve always had an ambivalent relationship with religion. On the one hand, it’s where I learned right and wrong. On the other, there’s a lot of hypocrisy and outright evil justified in the name of God, even when it blatantly runs counter to the same Bible some people want to thump you with. Nick is an agnostic, so it just piles the conflict on more and more.
10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?
The relationship between Elaine and Nick evolves, and there is an amusing character named Eric Teasdale from Second Hand Goods who plays a bigger role in this one.
Tagging: I’m lousy with tagging, but I’m consistent. So no tags.
One thought on “We Interrupt Our Holiday Posts For The Next Big Thing

Comments are closed.